top of page

Lessons from the Lampstand

The lampstand is illustrated throughout scripture and in one place can be used to describe the nature of YHVH himself. Take a look at Isaiah 11:1-2.

Isa 11:1 And there shall come forth a rod out of the stem of Jesse, and a Branch shall grow out of his roots:

Isa 11:2 And the spirit of the LORD shall rest upon him, the spirit of wisdom and understanding, the spirit of counsel and might, the spirit of knowledge and of the fear of the LORD;

Notice what happens if we write out these seven Spirits of YHVH on the lampstand from right to left.

1. Spirit of the Fear of the Lord

2. Spirit of Knowledge

3. Spirit of Strength

4. Spirit of YHVH (Center Stand)

5. Spirit of Counsel

6. Spirit of Understanding

7. Spirit of Wisdom

Notice that the order illustrated is the levels in which a person takes in order to become closer to YHVH. First, you make the decision that you want to follow/fear YHVH. Then you gain knowledge about his commandments. This causes you to become stronger in your walk. As you become stronger in your walk you may begin to counsel others, or at the very least your children. As many teachers profess, it’s only after you have taught others that you truly begin to understand a topic. Finally, as you walk out each of these steps, practicing your faith, do you gain wisdom from the scriptures.

Pro 1:7 The fear of the LORD is the beginning of knowledge: but fools despise wisdom and instruction.

We also get the following three grouping if we follow each branch to its reflective branch:

• Spirit of the Fear of the Lord & Spirit of Wisdom (Wise Man)

• Spirit of Knowledge and Spirit of Understanding (Man of Understanding)

• Spirit of Strength and Spirit of Counsel (King)

Pro 9:10 The fear of the LORD is the beginning of wisdom: and the knowledge of the holy is understanding.

The lampstand can teach us many lessons.

17 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page